New York

New York City is the most popular city of the United States of America with about 8 million people. It is also the biggest port in the USA. New York City is subdivided into five boroughs: Manhattan, Queens, the Bronx, Staten Island and Brooklyn. Almost all of the Bronx is situated on the mainland, but the other boroughs are situated on islands. In all, New York City comprises some 50 islands. It is one of the world's leading commercial, financial, and cultural centers. There are 4 airports, 15 TV stations, 39 radio stations, over 100 hospitals, 29 universities, many cultural institutions, galleries.

New York has the largest subway system in the world. It is sometimes called "The Big Apple". The history of New York City can be traced back to Dutch Colonial days when the area was inhabited by Indians. Manhattan Island was bought from the Indians by the Dutch for price of US $25. On February 2, 1653, the town of New Amsterdam, was incorporated as a city under a charter issued by the Dutch West India Company. Later it was renamed New York. New York City, and particularly Manhattan, has many interesting architectural sites. There are quite a number of famous skyscrapers that dominate the skyline; the Flatiron Building, completed in 1902, was one of the first in the city. Others include the Chrysler Building, the Empire State Building, the group of buildings that make up the Rockefeller Center, and in the past the World Trade Center, which was one of the world's tallest buildings until September 11th. Other famous landmarks include the Statue of Liberty which stands on Liberty Island and it was a gift from France, Ellis Island, which served as the point of entry of immigrants to the United States. There's Yankee Stadium in the Bronx. Other major sports facilities in the city include Madison Square Garden in Manhattan. There are many attractive places where visitors like to go - some of the most widely known are Central Park and the Brooklyn Bridge.

Stránky pro tisk Poslat známému Vytvořit z článku PDF